The X Factor Philippines

The X Factor is finally coming to the Philippines. The X Factor Philippines is a television music competition seeking to discover new singing talent in the Philippines. It is adapted from the original UK show of The X Factor.

The X Factor Philippines is open to male and female, 13 years old and above; solo, duo, trio or group who have the “X” factor in singing.

Major auditions have been held multiple locations around the Philippines including major cities of Dagupan, Batangas, Manila, Bacolod, Cebu and Davao. Online auditions have also been eligible.

The X Factor Philippines will air in the second quarter of 2012.

The teaser for the competition shows a number of popular Philippine artists including Martin Nievera (Concert King Factor), Gary Valenciano (Pure Energy Factor), Zsa Zsa Padilla (Divine Diva Factor), Sarah Geronimo (Pop Princess Factor), Yeng Constantino (Pop Rock Princess Factor), Jovit Baldivino (Rock Prince Factor), Piolo Pascual (Singing Heartthrob Factor), and Sharon Cuneta (Mega Factor).

The teaser ends by asking: “Anong meron sila na wala sa iba? Lahat sila may X Factor. Nasa Pilipinas na!”

On December 29, 2011, Filipina actress and singer KC Conception was announced as the host of the show.

Filipino singers have done very well in overseas seasons of The X Factor and American Idol, and I cannot wait to see the new talent discovered now that Philippines will have our own X Factor competition.

American Idol (USA) Philippine Contestants

  • Thia Megia (American Idol Season 10)
  • Ramiele Malubay (American Idol Season 7)
  • Jasmine Trias (American Idol Season 3)
  • Camile Velasco (American Idol Season 3)

Recent “X Factor USA” contestants have included Ellona Santiago, and brothers Justin and ¬†Nathan and Justin Brewer.

Also Fil-American Nicole Scherzinger, the former lead singer of the Pussycat Dolls, has been a judge on The X Factor USA.

Here is a link to the The X Factor Philippines on Facebook:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *